A behind the scenes peek at my photo shoot with Donald Trump • August 19, 2010 • Trump National Golf Club

Tony Powell. Donald Trump. Photo courtesy of John Arundel/All rights reserved

One of the highlights of the summer was getting the call last week asking if I was available to photograph Donald Trump – on the grounds of his newly aquired golf course – for a Fall issue of Washington Life Magazine. The magazine’s Associate Publisher John Arundel was on hand to interview Trump and it all went off without a hitch. However, bad weather on the day of the originally-planned shoot very nearly put the brakes on the whole deal.

Tony Powell. Donald Trump. Photo courtesy of John Arundel/All rights reserved

Sunny skies prevailed over the greens of Trump National Golf Club in Loudon County, VA,  the following day, so once again all systems were go. Arriving early to the club, with my photo assistant Kate Leuba, gave us an opportunity to be fully prepared for Mr. Trump’s arrival – by helicopter! I was advised by a groundsman to hold on to my lighting equipment for dear life as he lands – that the high winds and flying debris might blow it all away. Glad I heeded his warning – I’m still finding grass in my camera bags!

"You're fired!" Photo courtesy of John Arundel/All rights reserved

Photo courtesy of John Arundel/All rights reserved

Photo courtesy of John Arundel/All rights reserved

Photo by Kate Leuba/All rights reserved

Comments
  1. Karen Franco says:

    Hi Tony,
    I got your name from Cathleen Leuba, and I am writing on behalf of my daughter Talia Franco. She is a senior in high school, and she is very interested in photography. She is taking an AP photography course this year, and she will need an unpaid internship in the spring. Her schedule is packed, but Cathleen mentioned you are in need of an assistant, and I am hoping my daughter may be able to speak to you about it. She has posted a lot of her photos on facebook, so you could check her out there, and I will try to get her in touch with you soon.
    Thanks so much! Your work is amazing!
    Karen Franco

Leave a Reply

