Check out more photos from the shoot at: www.tonypowell.smugmug.com

Turquoise © Tony Powell 8-4-09

Turquoise © Tony Powell 8-4-09

I’ve been really fortunate to be the beneficiary of the largess of an individual in town that wishes to remain anonymous. Summer is generally slower at the magazine so it usually isn’t the time to buy new equipment. I was able, however, to purchase my dream camera – the Canon EOS 5D Mark II – the other day, as well as a Tronix Explorer XT 1200 watt portable power supply which allows me now to take all my strobes to any location. I no longer have to rent from Penn Camera! The camera showed up yesterday via UPS and I can’t remember anticipating the arrival of a piece of equipment more than this. Not only does it rival the EOS 1Ds Mark III in pixel count (21.1-megapixel full-frame CMOS sensor with DIGIC 4 Image Processor) and image quality, it’s the first digital EOS camera to record in full 1080p resolution High Definition video. And it’s also $5,000 less! I look forward to shooting and editing my first HD film, with the new camera, in New York City this September. I’ll be collaborating with my best friend from Juilliard, the choreographer and dancer Rebecca Stenn, on a dance film, whose score I will also compose. When aspiring model Turquoise Williams called me up yesterday to arrange a test shoot, I decided to use my very reliable Canon EOS 40D, one last time, before switching solely to the 5D Mark II. A few examples from the yesterday’s shoot!

Turquoise © Tony Powell 8-4-09

Turquoise © Tony Powell 8-4-09

Turquoise © Tony Powell 8-4-09

Turquoise © Tony Powell 8-4-09

Leave a Reply

