Rhiannon Day © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Rhiannon Day © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Jacqueline Akoko © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Jacqueline Akoko © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Yesterday was probably one of the most artistically satisfying days of my life. Having been a studio photographer for so many years, a long-term goal has been to amass enough equipment and a team of stylists and assistants to enable me to set up shop wherever I’d like – indoors or out. It’s finally happened and yesterday’s shoot couldn’t have been more productive. A Higher Power is always at work in my life…it’s only when I get out of my own way can I feel its presence. I felt it in a big way yesterday when all the major components required for a successful photo shoot came together beautifully – but not without a few minor snags along the way. The hair and makeup artists with whom I was blessed to work with on this shoot each have A-list celebrities and politicians as regular clients, so I was particularly humbled when all agreed to work with me. Hairstylist Johnny Wright, makeup artist Carl Ray, and stylist Christopher G. Johnson, teamed up with two of my favorite models Rhiannon Day and Jacqueline Akoko, and my assistants Kevin Smoot and Poppia Ahmed for a full day of shooting in and around Georgetown. Of course I’d have to pick one of the hottest days this year on which to shoot. Even the steady breeze at Jack’s Boathouse (our first location) couldn’t abate the heat, which maxed out at 96 degrees. It felt like 105! My new Canon EOS 5D Mark II is, by far, the best digital camera I’ve ever owned and at 21 mega-pixels, it’s a relief to no longer need to rent it’s equivalent. After a few hours on the pier at Jack’s we packed up and headed over to Dean and DeLuca for a much-needed break before meandering through Cady’s Alley shooting guerilla style, from place to place, challenging myself to determine composition, aperture, and shutter speed on the fly. I felt like Andy Warhol with his entourage as we travelled (7 of us) through the streets of Georgetown en mass. What a scene we caused, a few times….all in the name of art! Next up? The Russian twins from L2 later today. Carl, Christopher, and Kevin are all on board. One more shoot next week and I’ll have enough photos from which to choose to complete the BEAUTY gallery of my website http://www.tony-powell.com, which I hope to launch by October 1.

Jacqueline Akoko © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Jacqueline Akoko © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Rhiannon Day © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Rhiannon Day © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Carl Ray, Rhiannon Day, and Johnny Wright © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Carl Ray, Rhiannon Day, and Johnny Wright © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Jacqueline Akoko and Rhiannon Day © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Jacqueline Akoko and Rhiannon Day © Tony Powell 8-10-09

Comments
  1. guardadocumentos says:

    nice photography.

Leave a Reply

