Tea time with Sheila Johnson and Fran Drescher photos can be viewed and purchased at www.washingtonlife.com!

Fran with Angelina Jolie, who lost her mother to ovarian cancer photo courtesy of www.cancerschmancer.org

Fran with Angelina Jolie, who lost her mother to ovarian cancer photo courtesy of http://www.cancerschmancer.org

The wide sphere of people I get to meet and the various causes I get to learn about are two of the greatest advantages of working for Washington Life Magazine. I was given the assignment to photograph a tea time party hosted by Washington Mystics owner and philanthropist, Sheila Johnson, in the owner’s box at the Verizon Center, before the start of the Mystics/Minnesota Lynx game on Sunday. I also knew that comedienne Fran Drescher would be there, but what I didn’t expect to hear was the TV star and guest of honor, Drescher, talk so openly and honestly about the brave battle she waged and won, nine years ago, against uterine cancer.

Cancer schmancer

So dedicated is she to the cause of early cancer detection (especially the 1st stage) she founded The Cancer Schmancer Movement in 2007.

Jennifer Lopez with Fran at the 2008 Democratic National Convention photo courtesy of www.cancerschmancer.org

Jennifer Lopez with Fran at the 2008 Democratic National Convention photo courtesy of http://www.cancerschmancer.org

Utilizing her celebrity status and famous friends, she’s not only raised huge sums for cancer prevention, diagnosis, and treatment, she was also instrumental in having The Gynecologic Cancer Education and Awareness Act signed into law in 2007.

politicians_banner_mini2

Fran with various politicians courtesy of http://www.cancerschmancer.org

In an excerpt from Drescher’s “Fran Plan,” she writes,

“Too many women are being told that they have cancer today, when they should have been told yesterday.

I am a uterine cancer survivor, but was misdiagnosed and mistreated for a peri-menopause condition I didn’t have. It took me two years and eight doctors before finally being told that I had a gynecologic cancer. I swear I got in the stirrups more times than Will Rogers!

As the result of this experience, I wrote the NY times bestseller Cancer Schmancer with the hopes that in telling my story I would prevent what happened to me to happen to others. But when I went on my book tour, I realized that what happened to me had happened to millions of women like me. And so it was then I realized the book was not the end but rather the beginning of a life mission to improve women’s healthcare in America. Toward this end, I have started The Cancer Schmancer Movement.

Our mission is to ensure that ALL women’s cancers are diagnosed in STAGE 1, when it is most curable. Early detection equals survival. It’s as simple as that. Through education, legislation, and social reform, we will not stop until the very landscape of America’s women’s healthcare consciousness has been replanted.”

Tony with Fran - photo by Eric Kemp

Tony with Fran August 30, 2009 photo by Eric Kemp

To join the Cancer Schmancer Movement so that you can help revolutionize women’s health history and ensure that all women are diagnosed with cancer in Stage 1 click here!

Comments
  1. Just want to say your article is as tonishing. The clarity in your post is simply impressive and i can assume you are an expert on this field. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the strong work

Leave a Reply

