© Tony Powell. Between Time. March 28, 2010. Dancers: Devon Teuscher, Junio Teixeira, Se-Yong Kim, and Enton Hoxha

It finally happened! My 120th ballet, “Between Time” (no longer “In Between Time,” I dropped the “In”) was successfully given its World Premiere last night at Baltimore Ballet‘s 10th Anniversary Gala. Originally slated to have its first go February 6th, the Gala was postponed until March 28th – the result of last month’s snow storm of epic proportions that we all unwittingly endured.

© Tony Powell. Between Time. March 28, 2010. Dancers: Devon Teuscher, Junio Teixeira, Se-Yong Kim, and Enton Hoxha

To top it all off when it came time to reassemble the original members of my cast (8 dancers) I was informed that 2 of them weren’t able to get released from their contracts to perform on the new date, and another was struggling with ankle problems. Instead of throwing in the towel, I chose to remain optimistic and zeroed in on the middle movement of the ballet as a point of departure. It made sense to re-work this section – a pas de quatre or dance for four – and transform it into a work that could live on its own. I’d originally chopped off a minute and a half of the music, by much in-demand composer Max Richter, to balance the flow of the ballet but returned the score to its original length which provided an opportunity to add to the dimension of the pas de deux that opens that section. With each of the four dancers working in and around New York City – ABT, Met Opera Ballet, and New Jersey Ballet – I knew I had to go there  (twice last week) if I wanted to bring the piece back to life after the 7-week hiatus.

© Tony Powell. Between Time. March 28, 2010. Dancers: Devon Teuscher, Junio Teixeira

© Tony Powell. Between Time. March 28, 2010. Dancers: Devon Teuscher, Junio Teixeira

It was worth EVERY minute! Just after the curtain came down on me bowing with the dancers I left the stage only to be thrust into the arms of a female stagehand that was crying after having watched my piece. We bonded in that moment as we cried together. Who could ask for a greater compliment than that? I realized – maybe for the first time – that I’d been able to translate something very personal to me into something meaningful to others.

© Tony Powell. Between Time. March 28, 2010. Dancers: Devon Teuscher, Junio Teixeira, Se-Yong Kim

Comments
  1. congrats! it was an amazing piece!!!

    • Tony Powell says:

      Thank you for your kind words!! Nice meeting you and I look forward to seeing your pictures. I’d especially like to see of you got one of me taking a bow with my dancers and the ones after the performance at the reception!

Leave a Reply

