Images by Tony Powell • Words by Natalie Berk

© Tony Powell. Natalie Berk. May 17, 2010

I had the honor of being photographed by Tony Powell yesterday. Being my first artistic shoot, it was an enlightening experience. As a young girl on the threshold of a grown-up world, it’s sometimes difficult to shed anxieties and it’s scary giving yourself permission to just relax – but with my Mother at my side holding a big silver reflection board, and Tony cracking jokes, I slowly began to let go.

© Tony Powell. Natalie Berk. May 17, 2010

© Tony Powell. Natalie Berk. May 17, 2010

© Tony Powell. Natalie Berk. May 17, 2010

Working with Synetic Theater has taught me that each body holds its own individual story. Tony, as a graduate of the Juilliard School of Music, shares this frame of mind. It’s unbelievable to have an established artist like Tony collaborate with a young artist such as myself. And I am so incredibly lucky to have him to give breath to my artistic visions.

© Tony Powell. Natalie Berk. May 17, 2010

Today I watched some of my own stories come to life through the moments captured by Tony’s lens.

Comments
  1. Lilia Slavova says:

    Absolutly stunning! Natalie,baby you are the most fantastic model!Tony ia a true artist!
    Your theacher,Lilia Slavova

Leave a Reply

